What's Happening Now

BUZZR to premiere 'Celebrity Name Game,"Supermarket Sweep

BUZZR is gearing up their heading into the New Year giving game show fans across the country even more reason to celebrate. While the holiday shopping frenzy may be over, the network will have you going wild in the aisles when Supermarket Sweep premieres on Monday, January 15th at 8:30 PM ET/5:30 PM PT; with a second airing at 11:30 PM ET/8:30 PM PT. The party continues later in the year when for the first time BUZZR begins airing the fan favorite, Celebrity Name Game, with host Craig Ferguson. Celebrity Name Game will premiere on Friday, February 9th at 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT, with a second airing at 11:00 PM ET/8:00 PM PT.

BUZZR will be airing some of the best episodes of "Supermarket Sweep" from the 1990’s and 2000’s beginning on Monday, January 15th. Capturing a time before self-checkout and when grocery bags were offered free of charge, Supermarket Sweep will provide a cart full of fun to BUZZR’s regular weekday line-up, airing Monday – Thursday at 8:30 PM ET/5:30 PM PT, with a re-airing at 11:30 PM ET/8:30 PM PT.

In addition to BUZZR’s airing of retro episodes of Supermarket Sweep, in 2017 BUZZR’s parent company, FremantleMedia, acquired the global rights to the format and announced that the company will be bringing the iconic shopping game show back to television with an all-new series.

In February BUZZR will begin kicking off the weekend with a sensational re-vamped Friday night programming block. The addition of Celebrity Name Game will give game show fans the perfect lead-in for the weekend. Celebrity Name Game originally premiered in syndication in fall of 2014. Hosted by Craig Ferguson, the show teams celebrities with contestants to identify famous names, including actors, singers, athletes, pop culture figures, politicians and even cartoon characters. Celebrity Name Game’s three season run resulted in host Craig Ferguson receiving two consecutive Daytime Emmy Awards for Outstanding Game Show Host. Celebrity Name Game was produced by FremantleMedia North America and distributed by Debmar-Mercury in the U.S.

"Celebrity Name Game" will premiere on Friday, February 9th at 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT, with a second airing at 11:00 PM ET/8:00 PM PT. The series will continue airing at this same time on consecutive Fridays throughout the year as part of BUZZR’s new Friday night programming block. BUZZR’s Friday night fun will also include for the first time "Temptation: The New Sale of the Century" (2007-2008) and "Family Feud" with host Richard Karn (2002-2006).  

No comments