What's Happening Now

2018 Independent Spirit Awards (Complete Winners List)

The 2018 Independent Spirit Awards were handed out this afternoon in Santa Monica.  
This year’s major winners were Get Out, which won Best Feature and Best Director; Call Me by Your Name, which won Best Male Lead and Best Cinematography; I, Tonya, which won Best Supporting Female and Best Editing. 

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, took home awards for Best Female Lead and Best Supporting Male; Lady Bird, which won Best Screenplay; Ingrid Goes West, which won Best First Feature; The Big Sick, which won Best First Screenplay; Life and Nothing More, which won the John Cassavetes Award; Faces Places which won Best Documentary and A Fantastic Woman, which won Best International Film.

The 11th annual Robert Altman Award was given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast. Mudbound director Dee Rees received this award, along with casting directors Billy Hopkins and Ashley Ingram as well as cast members Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Rob Morgan and Carey Mulligan.
2018 Independent Spirit Awards Complete List of Winners:

Best Feature: 
Get Out (Universal Pictures)
Producers: Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm Jr., Sean McKittrick, Jordan Peele

Best Director: 
Jordan Peele, Get Out (Universal Pictures)

Best Screenplay: 
Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird (A24)

Best First Feature: 
Ingrid Goes West (NEON)
Director: Matt Spicer
Producers: Jared Ian Goldman, Adam Mirels, Robert Mirels, Aubrey Plaza,
Tim White, Trevor White

Best First Screenplay:
Emily V. Gordon, Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick (Amazon Studios)

John Cassavetes Award (For best feature made under $500,000):
Life and Nothing More (CFI Releasing)  
Writer/Director: Antonio Méndez Esparza
Producers: Amadeo Hernández Bueno, Alvaro Portanet Hernández,
Pedro Hernández Santos

Best Supporting Female:
Allison Janney, I, Tonya (NEON)

Best Supporting Male: 
Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Fox Searchlight)          

Best Female Lead:
Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
(Fox Searchlight)

Best Male Lead:
Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)

Robert Altman Award: 
Mudbound (Netflix)                                     
Director: Dee Rees
Casting Directors: Billy Hopkins, Ashley Ingram
Ensemble Cast: Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Rob Morgan, Carey Mulligan

Best Cinematography: 
Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Editing:
Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya (NEON)

Best International Film: 
A Fantastic Woman (Chile – Sony Pictures Classics)
Director: Sebastián Lelio

Best Documentary: 
Faces Places (Cohen Media Group)       
Directors: Agnés Varda, JR
Producer: Rosalie Varda

No comments

Comments are moderated for language before posted.