What's Happening Now

'Jesus Christ Superstar: Live in Concert' receives 13 Emmy Nominations

JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR LIVE“Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert” on NBC was nominated for a total of 13 Emmy nominations, including Outstanding Variety Special (Live). 

The show's creator and executive producer Andrew Lloyd Webber received his first Emmy nomination. John Legend was nominated for Lead Actor as well as for his producing duties. The news is interesting because Webber, Tim Rice, and John Legend are all just one Emmy win away from receiving EGOT, meaning a list of performers and producers who have won an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and a Tony Award. Acting nominations also went to Sara Bareilles and Brandon Victor Dixon. 

Said Webber about the nominations, “I am so proud of the cast and creative team behind ‘Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert.’  We poured our hearts and souls into this production and we are honored that the Television Academy has recognized the show.   I am extremely moved that the show continues to touch audiences nearly 50 years after it was written."

Emmy Nomination Categories for "Jesus Christ Superstar: Live in Concert": 

Outstanding Variety Special (Live) - Andrew Lloyd Webber, Tim Rice, Marc Platt, Craig Zadan, Neil Meron, John Legend, Mike Jackson, Ty Stiklorius and Alex Rudzinski

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie - John Legend

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or TV Movie - Sara Bareilles

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or TV Movie - Brandon Victor Dixon

Outstanding Production Design for a Variety Special – Jason Ardizzone-West, Melissa Shakun

Outstanding Costumes for Variety, Nonfiction or Reality Programming – Paul Tazewell, Laaleh Mizani, Heather Lockard, Rory Powers

Outstanding Casting for a limited series, movie or special – Bernard Telsey, Patrick Goodwin

Outstanding Directing for a Limited Series, Movie, or Dramatic Special – David Leveaux, Alex Rudzinski

Outstanding Hairstyling for a Multi-Camera Series or Special – Charles LaPointe, Kevin Maybee

Outstanding Lighting Design/Direction for a Variety Special – Al Gurdon, Travis Hagenbuch, Ben Green, Kirk J. Miller, Eric Christian

Outstanding Makeup for a Multi-Camera Series or Special – Joe Dulude II, Angela L. Johnson, Milagros Median-Cerdeira, LaSoyna Gunter, Margie Durand, Andrew Sotomayor

Outstanding Sound Mixing for a Variety Series or Special – Thomas Holmes, Ellen Fitton, John Harris, Brian Flanzbaum, Mark Weglinski, David Crawford, Dan Gerhard, Mike Bove, Jason Sears, Christian Schrader

Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control For a Limited Series, Movie or Special – Eric Becker, Emelie Scaminaci, Ka-Lai Wong, Shaun Harkins, Raymond Hoover, Jay Kulick, Ron Lehman, Tore Livia, Adam Margolis, Lyn Noland, Jimmy O’Donnell, Mark S. Renaudin, Andrew Waruszewski

No comments

Comments are moderated for language before posted.