What's Happening Now

Lupe Fiasco to release Drogas Wave album

After dropping hints on Instagram, Lupe Fiasco announced the official street date for his next full-length studio album, “Drogas Wave” (1st & 15th/ Thirty Tigers) available everywhere September 28, preorders available now. 

An anticipated follow up to his 2017 Billboard no. 1 rap album “Drogas Light,” the 24-track new “Drogas Wave” stands alone as yet another reminder that the “brainy smurf of rap” (Pitchfork) has more to say, delivering to ravenous fans his most philosophically artistic project to date.

“Drogas Wave is based on a story about a group of slaves that jumped off of a slave ship transporting them from Africa,” said the independent rapper. Adding, “The slaves did not drown, and instead somehow managed to live under the sea. They spent the rest of their underwater existence sinking slave ships. ‘Drogas’ is the Spanish word for drugs. I made it an acronym which stands for ‘Don’t Ruin Us God Said.’”

After departing from former label Atlantic Records following the release of Tetsuo & Youth, "Drogas Light," is Fiasco's first independent release as an artist which became yet another earmark on a track record of an artist who continually comes into new bloom. Drogas Wave, Fiasco’s seventh studio album will be available everywhere music is found on September 28.

In the Event of Typhoon
Gold Vs. The Right Things To Do
Slave Ship
WAV Files
Down (feat. Nikki Jean)
Haile Selassie (feat. Nikki Jean)
Alan Forever (feat. Crystal Torres)
Helter Skelter
Stronger (feat. Nikki Jean)
Sun God Sam & The California Drug Deals (feat. Nikki Jean)
XO (feat. Troi Irons)
Don’t Mess Up The Children Interlude
Jonylah Forever
Baba Kwesi Interlude
Imagine (feat. SimonSayz & Crystal Torres)
Stack That Cheese (feat. Nikki Jean)
Cripple (feat. Elena)
King Nas
Quotations From Chairman Fred (feat. Nikki Jean & Bishop Edgar Jackson)
Happy Timbuck2 Day
Mural Jr.

No comments

Comments are moderated for language before posted.